- Dinner / - Lunch / Asian inspired / Cuisines / Dairy free / Entertaining / Gluten free / Marinades and sauces / Quick and easy / Summer

Chimichurri my way

Taking a leaf out of Frank Sinatra’s song, when it comes to Chimichurri – an Argentinian herb salsa,  I like to do it my way.

I swap the traditional base of parsley out for coriander, because I’m addicted to its fresh lemony flavour and, to be frank, parsley and I have never really been friends. I also prefer to use peanut oil instead of olive oil to protect the delicate balance of flavours in the sauce – olive oil has a tendency to be overpowering at times.

To finish things off I add fish sauce, lime zest and lime juice and voila! The Chimichurri becomes an amazingly fragrant melting pot of tradition with a modern Asian twist. It is irresistibly good as a dipping sauce or a salsa for any type of grilled meat or even seafood and fish, but marries especially well with steak.

Serves 4

Chimichurri my way

The fresh flavours of the salsa go extremely well with any type of grilled meat, fish or even seafood, but marry best with a well-cooked steak.

{Printable recipe}

For the Chimichurri:

  • 3 sprigs coriander
  • 1 red long chilli, seeds removed
  • 2 small garlic cloves, peeled
  • 2 tsp fish sauce
  • 4 tsp peanut oil
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • Juice of 1/2 lime

To make the chimichurri: chop the whole coriander sprigs and deseeded chilli finely. Place them in a bowl and add crushed garlic, fish sauce, peanut oil, brown sugar and juice of 1/2 lime. Mix well to combine and set aside for 10 minutes for the flavours to infuse.

To serve: transfer into a serving bowl and serve alongside grilled meats, fish or seafood.

25 thoughts on “Chimichurri my way

  1. Ohhhhhhhh awesome!!! Like gremolata but totally different, yet can be used in the same way!!! Love it!!! If I could chop things up fine like that then I would make this… Hamish can do it.. but I posses little to NO knife skills. WAH!

  2. I’m anxious to try your recipe with the fish sauce. I make my chimichurri with cilantro and parsley but the fish sauce will be new.

  3. Pingback: 15 minute hot and sour soup with sizzling beef « Wholesome Cook

  4. Yum… I’m never a big fan of parsley too, and coriander’s just the perfect swap! I’ve always loved a little tang on my steak and this sounds perfect

Tell me what you think...

